top of page
  • Writer's pictureKeisha James, M.Ed.

What is Experiential Learning?

The textbook definition, according to Wikipedia, "Experiential learning is the process of learning through experience, and is more narrowly defined as learning through reflection on doing."


From my perspective, experiential learning is the intentionality and awareness of learning while experiencing. As I mentioned in my previous post "TeacHimMom?", I quickly learned the beauty and significance in making things tangible for our children. Whether you tell or teach them about something, then take them to experience and explore it or if you experience something and then speak on it in greater detail with them afterwards... this creates a more organic and memorable approach to learning. It also embraces each child's unique personality, interests and nurtures the unique person they are intended to be. You get to know who that child is as a human being and how they learn best. I would say this approach to learning is witnessed, to some degree, in Early Childhood settings and takes a significant decline in the traditional school-age settings when children are really beginning to tap in to who they are. I will share more about some of the ways I embrace experiential learning with my son in a future post. As an actionable takeaway, begin to reflect on some of the experiential learning experiences you have shared with your child or yourself for that matter. If you have not intentionally embraced experiential learning, what could or would you like to try?


With much gratitude,


Keisha P. James, M. Ed. aka TeacHimMom


Reference

Wikimedia Foundation. (2023, August 30). Experiential learning. Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Experiential_learning




Recent Posts

See All
DSC010191_edited.jpg

I am so grateful for your time!

Please do not hesitate to reach out. Let me know how I can support or partner with you.

Be in the know when a new post is shared.

Thanks for submitting!

  • LinkedIn
  • RSS
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page